Home Articles Women's Prestige Race Series About
Abbott Still Leads Women’s Prestige Cycling Series
WPCS Staff

For full results, click HERE.

With one race remaining in the Women’s Prestige Cycling Series, new U.S. national road champion Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12) holds a slim lead over Alison Powers (Team Vera Bradley Foundation) and Evelyn Stevens (HTC-Columbia).

Abbott has held the lead in the individual standings since her win at the SRAM Tour of the Gila. But Stevens closed the gap at the Nature Valley Grand Prix with a runner-up finish to Abbott’s teammate, Shelley Evans – who climbed into the top five on the strength of her victory. Abbott, Powers and Evans all plan to compete in the final Series event, the Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic, in Oregon later this month.

In contrast, Abbott holds an insurmountable lead in the Series Best Young Rider competition in her last year of eligibility. The race is now for second place, with TIBCO/To the Top teammates Rebecca Much and Amanda Miller and Specialized D4W/Bicycle Haus teammates Chloe Forsman and Melanie Meyers separated by a scant 44 points.

Evans, the newly crowned U.S. national criterium champion, took over the lead in the top sprinter category from Carmen Small (Colavita/Baci presented by Cooking Light). Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12’s domination extends to the team standings and Abbott’s commanding lead in the Best Young Rider (Under 26) standings.

Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 not only holds the lead in all of the Series classifications, but also in the team competition, where they lead Team Vera Bradley Foundation by 341 points. Like the Best Young Rider competition, the race may be for second place here as well, with Team Vera Bradley Foundation leading HTC-Columbia by only 30 points.

1. Mara Abbott, Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12 – 360.
2. Alison Powers, Team Vera Bradley Foundation – 319.
3. Evelyn Stevens, HTC-Columbia – 275
4. Erinne Willock, Webcor Builders – 246
5. Shelley Evans, Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12 – 242.

1. Mara Abbott, Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12 – 605.
2. Rebecca Much, TIBCO/To the Top Pro Cycling Team – 319.
3. Amanda Miller, TIBCO/To the Top Pro Cycling Team – 319.
4. Chloe Forsman, Specialized D4W/Bicycle Haus, 297.
5. Melanie Meyers, Specialized D4W/Bicycle Haus, 275.

1. Shelley Evans, Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12 – 385.
2. Carmen Small, Colavita/Baci p/b Cooking Light – 289.
3. Brooke Miller, TIBCO/To the Top Pro Cycling Team – 286.
4. Ina-Yoko Teutenberg, HTC-Columbia – 220.
5. Carla Swart, Team Vera Bradley Foundation – 198.

1. Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12 – 1,185.
2. Team Vera Bradley Foundation – 844.
3. HTC-Columbia – 814.
4. Colavita/Baci presented by Cooking Light – 644.
5. Webcor Builders – 616.

In its seventh year, the Women’s Prestige Cycling Series is the only national bicycle racing series solely showcasing the country’s top female cycling talent in four events across the country.


Copyright Women's Task Force, 2004-2006. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED